The Big 5-0 and how I messed up

Standard

50s-black-the-big-50Shoot! My husband is turning 50 in 5 days… and I totally did not realize it was nearly June. To be fair – to me – I’ve had a lot on my mind. A dear friend is going through a nasty divorce, and had 10 days to move herself and two girls out of their lovely home into a one bedroom apartment. I can’t say how I feel about the whole situation because curse words would be involved… I will get into that another day! However, because of this I have been coordinating work days at her home to schedule people to pack and get people and vehicles to do the actual moving this weekend… as well as trying to help my poor friend not to have a complete breakdown. I’ve spent more time texting the last few days than I have in all the time I’ve actually had the ability to text… it’s been crazy. Not to mention working extra hours because this week was our big semi-annual sale, and it’s Kiki’s last week of school so we’ve been doing study guides and extra credit to pull her grades up (she has some B’s and would prefer to finish with A’s) and studying for finals… Also, she is working towards a mission trip to a foreign county in July, and her 16th birthday is this summer and I’ve been working on preparations for that for months (she wants a big to-do, so to pull that off I’ve had to take care of things in small $ amounts over several months). So in the midst of all that, I kind of forgot my husband’s big day.

Until today, when my mom asked when we were doing “the birthdays”. It’s always been sort of a 1-2 punch, as my dad’s birthday is one day after my husband’s, so we usually celebrate them together, with a family get-together of some sort. Which is fine, they both like that… but this year, since it was his 50th, I wanted to do something… special. Not huge, but special. And I spaced. And I’m not sure what to do about it at this point.

On the flip side, my daughter’s birthday is going to be fabulous!! Oops.

5 responses »

  1. Might I suggest you ask your husband if he wants anything?

    How can your friend’s husband force her out? Do you still have my email address?

  2. Well, my husband would say “no” but then maybe pout a bit… he doesn’t tend to be completely honest with these things. I “think” he’d like me to make a big deal about it, even if he won’t say so.

    As for my friend, it’s part of the divorce decree… if she wasn’t out by the 1st of the month she’d have to start paying more of the bills, and she just can’t. I don’t honestly understand it all – seems like she’s totally getting the short end of the stick, but I’ve heard my state is not a good one in which to get divorced. There are other things involved as well, but I hate to get into it all here… and no, I don’t think I do have your email anymore… I can check tho!

    • Your friend must have a lousy lawyer.

      When Himself turned 50, I gave him a surprise party at a friend’s house. You can plan a pot luck dinner and have it at another person’s house. Minimal decorating is needed.

  3. Sorry to hear about your friend’s situation. I do believe the court would on her side to keep the house but you know the situation better than I, of course. What a booger situation to be in.

Leave a Reply

