On a sugar fast…. and I miss my mochas!

Standard

big city mocha

My daughter talked me into going on a “sugar fast” with her. We decided on one month, no “added” or “obvious” sugar… that is, we are still eating fruits, and things like regular bread that turn into sugar quickly in your body; just nothing that is blatant sugar, like cookies and ice cream. Which pretty much eliminates most of my favorite foods. My favorite breakfast isn’t eggs and bacon, it’s a scone or a muffin… and I’d rather have a frozen yogurt than a sandwich for lunch. So it’s been… different, to say the least. In some ways it hasn’t been as hard as I’d thought. But I’m running out of ideas for making breakfast (cold cereal is out as most of it, even plain old Chex, has added sugar) no pancakes, no French toast, and that’s what I normally make. Even my corn meal mush is out, as we serve it with butter and sugar. I’m getting kind of sick of eggs, but it’s the 20th, so I can do this!

I’ve pretty much eliminated snacks and desserts, and since that’s my weakness, you’d think I’d have lost some weight… right? Right?! Nope. Not a pound. 20 days of no sugar and nothing. Okay, to be totally honest, it’s 19 days – I  took a day off for Mother’s Day! Still. I think I must have the crappiest metabolism ever. I don’t eat that much! Honest! Why can’t I lose weight?? On the plus side, however, is the fact that my legs are feeling less sore than they have been.. eliminating that whole sugar-causes-inflammation business, I guess. So that’s good.

But by far, the thing I have missed the most is mochas. I really really REALLY want one. Now. This very moment!!

…..sigh…..

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

