I should’ve stayed in bed today (Algebra must die)

Standard

I have decided. Officially. Algebra must die.

I never liked algebra. We never got along well. Then, I thought I  had left it behind; conquered it as well as I could.

Now I have a teenager. Who hates algebra. Who does not understand algebra. And whatever it was that I learned about it to get me through with a decent grade all those decades ago has been lost in the blur of “I really no longer give a crap”.  So, I can’t help her. She asks me to help; I look at at the problem, and my brain freezes solid. If there is any math knowledge left in my brain, it’s never getting past that block of ice.

We had a major blowout today. Well, it was bad for us. We don’t argue all that often. But today it was so bad I left the house and went for a drive.

It really depressed me. I am having a hard time getting past it. I don’t think it’s all the math. Or the argument. There is so, so much more about my life that is so incredibly stressful right now…. I think it’s just too much. Or maybe it’s the math.

Kiki and I had a nice long talk later on, and what we determined was this: Most of our arguments start over math.

I hate math.

4 responses »

  1. We did the co-op 1st thru 8th grade, and do I ever miss it this year! Those two days she was in school were a huge help, mentally and physically, for both of us I think! She wants to do “real” school for her high school years so she can be in choir and drama; however, the school she wants to attend (where her uncle is the choral director) is only 10th -12th, so we had to do something else for 9th grade… and something ‘accredited’ or she wouldn’t be able to transfer to the 10th grade next year, so we couldn’t do the homeschool coop for 9th…. does that make sense? Anyway, she is doing public school, online… so we are together ALL. THE. TIME. I love the kid, but sheesh… it’s a bit much, what with her being a hormonal teenager and me being a hormonal premenopausal mom!

  2. I was just going to tell you about http://www. khanacademy.org and someone already did. The videos on algebra have helped me with Jabber Box’s homework many times. I hate Algebra also! Jabber Box’s notes do not help as much as a video showing how to solve the problems step-by-step. I hope it helps you too!

Leave a Reply

