“At least it’s a ‘dry heat'”

Standard

Today’s official high temperature – well in the United States, anyway – was 108 degrees, in Boise, Idaho. Yeah… right where I live.  Well, okay, technically, I live in one of the outlying towns… but, still. It was toastin’ hot here today.

The weird thing is, it didn’t seem horribly hot to me. Hot, yeah, of course, but not like ‘walking into a furnace’ hot, and you’d think it would have felt like that.

I think there is something strange going on… with me. See, I was born and raised in the West – Southern California. Then since getting married, we have also lived in some other western states – Idaho, Utah, Washington… and then Virginia. The West can be hot… obviously. But it’s dry. Well, okay, the Seattle area isn’t exactly what you’d call dry, but what I mean to say is, it’s not humid. Not in the least. Most of my life, when I’d complain about the weather and how hot it was, someone would say “well, at least it’s a dry heat” and I’d think “what the crap does that mean?” because let’s face it, hot is hot, right? Well, no. Wrong.

We lived in Virginia about a year and a half, over two summers. Geez, you talk about HOT!!  And guess what? It’s not the temperature that kills you, it’s the humidity. I don’t understand why anyone would live back east on purpose. Humidity is just… gross. It’s like I couldn’t even breathe back there when it was hot… like I was wrapped up in a hot, wet, woolen blanket.  urrgggh. 

So we’re back in Idaho, and even though it’s been over 100 degrees every day this week, and just plain crazy hot today… it felt…. good. A nice hot. Just a “dry heat”, lol. I guess you have to experience the “wet heat” to understand what that means.

3 responses »

  1. One of my best friends is moving to Boise July 23rd. I am having her going away party this Thursday night. She is always freezing, so I am sure she will love the dry heat! Some of this summer’s hottest days in Indiana have been above 100 degrees but It hasn’t been bad to me, because the humidity has been below 30%. I think when it is this dry, the sweat just evaporates off my skin instantly, so I don’t even know I am sweating.

  2. You’re totally right – the evaporation is key! Sweat evaporating cools you, while that horrible humidity crap just assures that you will have wet underwear all day. Just sayin’.
    Wow, your friend is moving here – what’re the odds? lol Hope she likes it…

Leave a Reply

