Thoughtless Sister Strikes Again

Standard

I know, I know… I only come here to complain. Where, well else should I go? Huh??

Tomorrow is the 4th of July. Holiday and all that. So, we wanted a low-key event, family barbeque, some ‘safe and sane’ fireworks, call it good. Mom and I asked my sister if she and her family wanted to come over. Fine. Because they are coming, I told Kiki that her friend couldn’t come, because I wanted her to spend time with her cousin. My sister later told me she’d invited a gal and her two daughters (who are around Kiki’s age) and that’s fine, because we all know this family, they are going thru some really hard times right now, and they’ll be fun to have over. No problem.

This afternoon I went to the market and bought the amount of groceries I knew it would take to cover the amount of people I was expecting.

Then tonight when I got home, my mom was freaking out about the ‘extra people’ my sister has invited. A total of at least 10 more than we’d planned on! First off, isn’t it pretty rude to invite people over to someone else’s house?? Without asking first? Secondly, these are people my mom doesn’t even know. They are my sister’s friends, not family friends. I do happen to know them – and one couple I don’t like. They annoy me, and the husband annoys Alan so badly I am not even telling him that that guy will be here, because honestly, Alan might decide to go elsewhere… yeah, it’s that bad. And I know I have mentioned to my sister that we don’t really care for this particular couple. And yet….

Her comment was “well, we just have a hard time saying ‘no'”…. Really?? No to what? When someone asks what you are doing how about you reply “Oh, just a little family get-together”. And I bet that person doesn’t invite themself to your family’s event, so what is it that you’d be saying “no” to?

The truth is, my sister not only thinks ‘the more the merrier’ (a trait that my mom, my dad, my husband and myself do NOT share) she also wants to be involved in every little thing – to not miss out on anything – and the only way to not miss out on what your friends might be doing is to be sure your friends are doing it with you.

The other problem this creates is that a couple of these families have kids that Kiki’s cousin is good friends with – so now that I have told Kiki she can hang out with her cousin and therefore doesn’t need to have a friend over, her cousin will now be ditching her for the other kids. (And yes, she will, That’s how it works.)

I was really looking forward to tomorrow. Both Alan and I have the day off work, and I thought it would just be a fun little day. But once again, my sister’s selfishness has thrown a shadow over my life. I am trying to make the best of it… I am sure there will be parts of the day that will be nice. However, I am absolutely dreading the moment Alan finds out about who is coming… that could really make it crappy.

3 responses »

    • Yeah, she brought meat to bbq… and mom never says “no” to anything. Fortunately, the couple we were dreading called my sister and declined, so it was a pretty decent day afterall 🙂

Leave a Reply

