Going to the Ball! You know, like Cinderella.

Standard

Tomorrow night I am going to The Ball. You’d think I’d be more excited.  Maybe it’s because I’m no longer a teenager, or that, being married, I can’t really expect to meet Prince Charming.  ‘Cause, that’d be awkward and all.

Actually, my daughter has been taking a Cotillion class and this Ball is the final event. Dinner and dancing.  Kiki gets to wear a lovely formal gown, new shoes, sparkly jewelry, and beforehand we are going to my sister’s house and she’s going to give her some sort of fancy up-do.  Me, I’m just wearing the one dress I own and a worn out pair of flats. Sigh. One of the crappy parts of being poor… and yet, it doesn’t really matter. Kiki is the one who ought to feel like a princess.  And hopefully she will.

3 responses »

  1. We did have a great time! Better than I expected. Many people (parents especially) did not dance all the dances so I didn’t feel silly. Also, I ran into someone I knew from a previous life (lol! 20+ years ago, horse club!) so it was fun to talk to her… I did dance one dance, a silly one and it was a blast. Kiki looked amazing and she felt it, so that was good 🙂

Leave a Reply

