I hate to admit this, but…. I like The Hunger Games. Books and the movie.

Standard

My husband started reading the series as well. Got involved to the point that we didn’t want to wait to get the book from the library (I was about 200-something on the waiting list for book 2) so we ended up buying the boxed set of books.  Yeah. We are that crazy.  I ended up reading the last book in one day – I got so caught up in it – not to mention it’s pretty stressful to read – that I just wanted to be done! I liked books 2 and 3 better than the 1st; not sure if they’re better or if I was just hooked.

Then we went to see the movie. Opening night, midnight premier, of course.  With Kiki and friends all dressed up like characters from the books. Of course.

The movie is exhausting. The way they filmed it really sets the mood. I found it hard to watch, but good. Actually the book series was exhausting as well, in my opinion. Because it’s a really dark story.  But one that needs to be told. All in all, I’m glad I got sucked in.

4 responses »

    • Well…. it isn’t a “like-like”… they keep you engrossed, and for her target audience (teens, young adults) I can see why they like the story. I still think she is not a very good (technical) writer, and the stories are dark and rather depressing. Even at the end of the trilogy, it’s not uplifting, really. More like “life sucks but carries on”. Which is actually true to a certain extent, don’t you think? However, I think it’s a story that needs to be read by the younger generation – sort of along the lines of “know world history so you don’t have to repeat it”.

Leave a Reply

