I’m having an Epiphany! (of the Feast kind, not the thought kind…)

Standard

(… although, I could probably use one of the thought kinds…)

An epiphany is the sudden realization or comprehension of the (larger) essence or meaning of something. The term is used in either a philosophical or literal sense to signify that the claimant has “found the last piece of the puzzle and now sees the whole picture,” or has new information or experience, often insignificant by itself, that illuminates a deeper or foundational frame of reference.

So, yeah, I could totally do with one of those!  Sadly, that’s not what I’m having today.  What I am having is the churchy kind, the last day of the 12 Days of Christmas. January 6th. This is a day that some Christians around the world traditionally observe as the day the 3 Kings (or Wisemen) came to visit baby Jesus and brought him gifts. In some places, this is the day gifts are exchanged rather than on Christmas Day. Some people do a little something on each of the 12 days.

Over the years since I’ve been married, we have observed this day more or less depending on what else was going on in our lives.  We’ve never made it as big a deal as Christmas, but some years we did have an extra gift on this day, read the Bible story of the wisemen, and one year I even baked a King’s Cake. Yeah, only one year.  But I always want to make one! Neither of us really had this day as a tradition in our family, and sometimes I think my main reason for celebrating it is to extend Christmas for a little longer, because it’s my favorite day of the year.   Also, to put off the inevitable mess of “packing away Christmas” for another year.

This year it’s probably less of a deal than ever, as we’re still at my parents house and I’m just not in the mood.  The most that we’re doing is not putting the tree away until tomorrow. Whoopee.

Maybe I should put my energies into having the other kind of Epiphany instead.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

