Christmas Craft! Advent calendar hanging wreath

Standard
You’ve heard the saying “Necessity is the mother of invention”? Yes, well, you may be seeing a lot of crafts on my blog in the next few weeks, since Christmas is coming up and our funds are rather low.  I have some great ideas… we’ll see what I actually get accomplished.

Todays craft was also created out of necessity.  Kiki wanted an advent calendar.  We’d seen a few at World Market a couple weeks ago, but the ones they had left were a little… well, the ones in the ad paper were cuter, and we innocently assumed they’d get some more in soon. Well, when we returned on the last day on November they had one left… one that looked as though it had been run over by a shopping cart.  Shoot.  We went to a total of 5 stores searching for an advent calendar.  Each place either never carried them this year, or were completely sold out.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME????  Christmas. No advent calendars. Weird.
 
So I promised Kiki I’d make her one.  But I had to keep it cheap.  I spent some time after dropping her off at the co-op wandering a few stores and finally came up with an idea!  See, I had some craft supplies I’d picked up last year after Christmas to make a hanging wreath
for this year.  So, I’d tweak it a bit. All I needed was a few boxes and some stuff to stick in them (mostly candy!) and “voila”! Advent calendar.

 Here are some pics of what I had and the process:

I started with a grapevine wreath

 
  
 OKAY!  I am really really really irritated!!  My picture uploads are not working at all!!  It all looks great until I actually get it posted, then it’s all wonky and missing stuff and mIxed up… i AM GETTING REALLY PISSED OFF SO IT’S TIME TO QUIT!!  I’ll try again tomorrow I guess…
 
2 responses »

Leave a Reply

