Yesterday was a remarkable day – new jeans and all

Standard

Honestly! First, I went to the store to buy a new pair of jeans. Which, of course, is a despised sort of thing for me to do. But as my old pair was ripping in the inner thigh, it had to be done.  Yeah, that’s right.  I only buy new pants when I absolutely am in danger of ripping out of an old pair – don’t judge!

Anyhow, the good news is this – the pair I bought was a size smaller!  Yay me!  Better yet, I also bought myself a new shirt – and it came from the non-fat-lady section of the store!!  That’s right, I got to buy clothing in the normal-sized-clothes area! Sure, it’s a t-shirt, so it’s stretchy… possibly a blouse type of deal would not fit me, but hey – I am gonna celebrate the XL, anyway!

(this is where I do the happy dance…)

Then the 2nd amazing thing happened.  I made dinner.  From scratch. 

Okay, for a whole lot of people – woman and wives especially – that’s like “whoopdi freakin doo” I suppose… but for me?  I don’t cook.  I despise cooking.  Baking, sure.  I love to bake and I do it alot.  But not cooking.  The “whys” are long and involved, and that might be a post for another day… suffice it to say it’s a rare day when I make dinner.  When I do, I have a couple things I like to make.  The one I made last night is “Dinner in a Pumpkin’.  Yeah, it’s an autumn kinda thing.  I really like it.  And I think my family did too!

5 responses »

    • Yeah – it was almost silly how excited I was about buying a top in the “regular” department! Let’s see – the pumpkin filling was ground beef, pork sausage, (I used maple because I like this meal a little sweet)brown sugar, pumpkin pie spice, long rice, wild rice, cream of mushroom and cream of celery soups, chicken broth, mushrooms, green beans, water chestnuts…. I think that’s it!

      • Oh… and you serve it with hunks of the pumpkin… it’s really good! Altho, I think my dad’s favorite part of the meal were the Pillsbury crescent rolls that I had Kiki make… go figure!

Leave a Reply

