Lifting weights vs. lifting weight ~ why isn’t it as helpful??

Standard

Lifting weights are touted as a great way to get into shape.  You can get all buff and tough by lifting weights; you can amp up your weight loss or body building routine by putting ankle weights on while you work out, or by carrying dumbells as you walk, right?

So.  I am overweight.  Quite overweight.  Every time I move, I am “weight lifting”!  I have to lift all that weight to get up off the couch or the floor.  Every time I go on my morning walk I am packing around a whole lot of weight.  I’ve been doing this for years!

My muscles should be so totally ripped by now.

One response »

Leave a Reply

