When will western doctors quit “practicing” medicine and just do something right?

Standard

Have you ever wondered why they say doctors are “practicing” medicine? Do educators “practice” teaching?  Do policemen “practice” upholding the law?  Yeah, I don’t think so.  (okay, you could argue that lawyers “practice” the law… do you really want to use that arguement??) My dad worked in the aerospace industry – yes, he was a rocket scientist.  If he had only been practicing his job, the Hubble Space Telescope wouldn’t have ever been in orbit, to mention one thing.

I have lost faith in our doctors.  Now, not in the case of trauma or some other catastrophic event – if I was in a horrid accident, there is nowhere I’d want to be other than in an American hospital.  Our doctors are great at putting things back together and that sort of thing.  I am talking about illnesses and the symptoms of such.

When was the last time you went to a doctor because you didn’t feel well, had that doctor truly listen to you and your symptoms, and then said doctor did a whole lot of stuff to find out the real basis for your problem then deal with that?  OR… did that doctor give you some medicine to deal with your symptoms and hopefully by the time your meds were gone your actual illness was gone as well…?

Have you ever actually read an advertisement for a prescription drug?  Check this one out…

How does PRISTIQ work?

No one knows for sure what causes depression. But many experts believe that depression results when certain chemicals in the brain are out of balance. These chemicals, called neurotransmitters, relay messages from one brain cell to another.

PRISTIQ is thought to work by affecting the levels of two of these neurotransmitters: serotonin and norepinephrine. PRISTIQ is an SNRI, or    serotonin-norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor

Is thought to work??  So, they don’t know what causes the depression and they don’t know how or why the medication might work… but, they will prescribe it to you and make you think you will feel better.  Unless you get worse and suicidal, which is one of the numerous side effects….

This is typical doctor crap!  I think the pharmaceutical companies put teachers in the med schools and, instead of teaching how to diagnose an illness, they teach what medication to give for what symptom. I am not joking.

Case in point:  My most recent illness.  I went to the doctor and told her my symptoms.  She said it couldn’t be the flu because it was too late in the year.  (so, I guess that’s a law?) So, she suspected bronchitis and gave me antibiotics.  She didn’t check to see if it was viral or bacterial – if it was viral, antibiotics don’t do a thing.  So why prescribe them? $$$.  They didn’t help.  I went back and by then I had pnuemonia.. so she prescribed a stronger antibiotic.  To which I had a severe reaction… a drug induced lupus, basically.  Which, when I went back in to see her again, she said was a “rare but not unheard of side effect” and as far as she knew “everyone eventually gets over it”.  Wow.  I have been in excruciating pain, unable to sleep or barely even function… they know it can cause this horrible side effect but they prescribe it anyway?!?  .Niiiiice

Doctors and their medications caused my younger sister’s death at the age of only 33.  I can tell you about that, if you’re interested.

So I’ve been going to the herbalist, and I am feeling quite a bit better.  Today is the first day I feel like I might actually feel good again one day, and without pain, hopefully.  I have hope, at least.  I think the pharmaceuticals have us by the throat… think about it.  They tell the insurance companies what they’ll pay for, they tell the doctors what to prescribe..  who knows how far it goes?  The doctor visits, the antibiotics, cost me around $60.00 total.  My cost – so far – for the herbalist is over $250.00… no insurance will cover that.  But can you put a price on your health?

6 responses »

  1. Sorry about all the crap you have been going through.
    Medicine is different in Canada but I agree with you– that doctors think everything is solved with medication! I have a friend who has Steven Johnson Syndrome. Google that if you want to see something gross. In her case it was caused by an antibiotic.
    I truly believe that Most things are stress related and the body’s immune system can overcome a lot of things. Herb and home remedities can work. That is what people used before modern medications!!
    Hope you are back to your old self very soon!!

    • Oh my —!! I looked up that syndrome and I guess I am ultimately thankful that I had the reaction I did and not that one. It makes me even angrier than ever to think doctors will prescribe these meds knowing what it could cause and never letting us know… shouldn’t we at least be informed and then make a decision for ourselves? Can anything be done for your friend? My heart really goes out to her.
      I agree with you about the stress… in fact, when I went to see the herbalist/naturopath, he wanted to know what griefs I am dealing with, because unresolved grief is believed (in Eastern tradition) to settle in the lungs…. it may sound weird, but I totally believe in the mind/spirit/body connection and if we would heed the things we need to deal with in our lives, I bet we’d be way healthier!

  2. Years ago, I had a big fight with my brother and the next day I got the worse flu I have ever had: That is when I truly believed that STRESS as well as Attitude is the biggest influences on health. By attitude, i mean, ‘thinking yourself better” which wouldn’t work on cancer or whatever, but really does work for headaches and nausea! And the less stress a person has, the less sick they get.
    Nothing can be done for my friend. She is ‘lucky’ as most of what she experiences in on the inside. Her organs are burned and she is now allergic to just about everything. (ALL medications and a LOT of food!) It doesn’t show on the outside for her, which makes people say: you don’t look sick! Which bugs her! She has troble eating and going to the bathroom as her whole gastrointestinal tract is burned. What bothers her the most (in her years of dealing with doctors) is that most do not recognize Steven Johnson Syndrome at all so the people she has met who have died, do not have Steven Johnson Syddrome as a cause of death. She has great husband who is a great cook, and who takes care of her when she has flair ups.

    Thanks for the birthday wishes!!!

  3. I agree with you, that our attitude is really key! If only I could get a handle on mine… lol. I know I am dealing with way too much stress right now because of living situations, but I don’t know what to do about it. Learn to deal better, I suppose. I guess if I had to ‘be’ miserable I’d prefer not to ‘look’ bad as well, and yet I also have a friend who “looks” healthy but feels pretty rotten most of the time.. the rest of us need to learn a little more empathy and compassion, I think.

Leave a Reply

