Recipe ~ Upside-down German Chocolate Cake

Standard

This recipe is from the 2002 Taste of Home Annual Recipe book.  It was super easy to make, and my husband said it is the only way he ever wants me to make German Chocolate cake again – it was that good!  (he also said to be sure I ‘accidentally’ rip off the outer edge then glue it back on with chocolate frosting, lol!)

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup butter

2/3 cup pecan halves (I used a little more than this)

2/3 cup flaked coconut

1/4 cup evaporated milk

CAKE:

1/3 cup butter

1 cup sugar

1 package (4 oz.) German sweet chocolate, melted

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1&1/2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 cup buttermilk

~~~

In a saucepan over low heat, cook and stir brown sugar and butter until sugar is dissolved and butter is melted.  Spread into a greased 9-inch square baking pan.  Sprinkle with pecans and coconut.  Drizzle with evaporated milk; set aside.

In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Beat in chocolate, eggs and vanilla.  Combine dry ingredients; add to creamed mixture alternately with buttermilk.  Pour over topping in pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near center comes out clean.  Cool 5 minutes before (loosening cake from pan edges and!!) inverting onto a serving plate.  Serve with vanilla ice cream.

So!  There it is.  Super easy, super yummy.  Make it and enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. I found out why I didn’t get your posts – they were going to junk mail! ugh

    This is my fave kind of cake but will have to wait. WW is my new best friend!

    Hope all is well with you, g

    • Gail – Glad you figured it out! Actually, I am really sick – most likely bronchitis. Ugh. Been on the edge of death for about 5 days now… can’t eat, can’t sleep…. okay, the silver lining to this is that in those 5 days I’ve lost 8 pounds! I’ve been trying to keep up on fluids, but know that a part of this is dehydration…. but some of it has to be “real” weight loss since I’ve eaten, well, 3 slices of toast and one popsicle! Now, if I can just keep myself from eating that bacon cheeseburger when I finally feel better….!! Well, that puts me at “officially” 50 pounds lost – 1/3 of the way there! (eyw… kinda gross looking at it like that!) I pray for your success!

Leave a Reply

