Spring time in Idaho

Standard

I love the Spring in Idaho.  You never know what you’re going to get!  One morning you wake up and the sun is shining, the birds are singing, it’s warm enough for a short-sleeved tshirt.  Then the wind kicks up, the clouds roll in, the rain starts… sometimes it might even snow.  And that was all just yesterday!  Two days ago it was in the 80’s, and today we’ll be lucky if it hits 60.  But I’m fine with that… summer comes soon enough, and with it the blazing hot days… so I’ll take whatever spring wants to dish out for now.

Springtime also brings new color to our little corner of the world.  Growing up in Southern California, I didn’t appreciate the colors of spring, because we pretty much had it year ’round.  Here though, I notice each and every new shoot and new leaf that pops up – after all, we’ve just been through the long brown and grey of winter, and color is deeply desired!  It’s also time for babies – ducks and geese are all over the open irrigation canals we have here, and since we still have sections of rural living the fields are full of calves and lambs, and even the occasional foal.

 

 

Spring also brings the promise of long, lazy summer days, as well as the promise of the end of homeschooling for another year!  Yay!  No way are we one of these “year-round homeschooling families”… geez, crazy people!  I want a break every bit as much as my child does!

4 responses »

    • Thanks! Yeah, I took all the photos except the one of the calf (I keep forgetting to take my camera with me when I’m out and about…) The nest is in a pine tree on the edge of our property – we found it on Easter day when the kids were doing their egg hunting, lol. Thank goodness none of us disturbed it.

  1. Beautiful pictures Ann! It has been a long time coming but we finally have spring here too. Winter was loooonnngggg! Enjoy your weather and I bet Kiki is glad school will be done soon too. What kid isn’t?

Leave a Reply

