Vonnie, this one is for you! Idaho, the Gem State

Standard

Per an earlier request via comment, this post is going to be about Idaho.  So, what can I say about Idaho?  So much of what you see in a place is about what you do or don’t like… such as – Wide Open Spaces.  I love the expanse of sky that you see here, and that you can see the awesome mountains in the distance, and watch the storms rolling in from the far-off edges.  When we lived in Virginia, I felt claustraphobic because of the woods all around us – it felt totally closed in, and I didn’t like it.  However, I recently met a gal who moved here from somewhere back East, and she said she feels all icky and exposed here because you aren’t surrounded by trees!  So, it’s all perspective, eh?  Now, I have to say that in Northern Idaho, you are surrounded by trees, altho they are evergreens instead of the hardwoods back East.  But it’s not like that in Southern Idaho.  North and South are sort of two different states.  Here in the south, it is sort of high desert, dry and sagebrushy.  Beautiful.  To me!

There aren’t a billion people here, which is why we moved here from Southern California.  Now, if you ask a native Idahoan (or someone who moved here from California more than 25 years ago so they think they are exempt) the Californians are the demise of Idaho.  They think we should all go home.  I think if they hate the newcomers they should move to Alaska.  Sheesh.   Anyhoodle, there are still open lands between towns, and farms dot the landscape, and we have open irrigation canals.  Don’t swim in them, though!  They have a wicked undertow.  You can be driving through a suburban neighborhood and come across a pasture of cows or horses, grandfathered-in because they were there first.  I love that.

What else?  Hmmm… well, we have 4 definate seasons, which I think is great.  Fall is my all-time favorite season, with the colors and crisp air and the scent of wood smoke in the air.  Spring is wild, with different weather every day.  Or several times a day!  We can have sun, warmth, wind and rain, and snow all in the same day.  Fun.  Outdoor recreation is big here – hiking, rafting, skiing, snowmobiling, hunting, horseback riding… bunches of stuff.  Now, shopping… not so much.  We have two malls within our little valley, one of which is pretty lame.  The other, slightly less so.  We have no Nordstrom, no Ikea, no Trader Joes…. but, we have some fun little indie shops… so, it’s fine.  Shopping was one thing I really missed when we moved from Cali, and one thing I loved when we moved to Seattle and then to Virginia… but, hey, everything is a trade-off, so my dad tells me! Now I am so poor I can’t afford to shop anyway….

I like it here.  I really do.  We have moved so much that I haven’t felt like anyplace was home, but since we moved back here from Virginia last summer, I really, really felt like I had come home.  It’s a good feeling.

Anything else you’d like to know about Idaho?  I am more than willing to share…. I just can’t think of anything at the moment!

Here are some photos of the local Idaho area that I think are a good general selection, to give you an idea of what it looks like around here.  These aren’t my pics, just nice ones I found on the internet – I apologize for not giving credit individually. 

I don’t know why some are all tiny… sorry 😦

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 responses »

  1. Thank you Ann! Beautiful slide show, thanks for taking the time to do it! We have been in Idaho once, when we took a trip to Yellowstone. That area was beautiful too. We also have all 4 seasons. I personally could live with at much shorter winter! Still have snow and now overland flooding. We must drive at least an hour to find any W@lmart or T@rget let alone the bigger stores, that’s a 2 hour drive in a different direction. Thanks again and take care!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures! One day I will have to post some I’ve taken myself… but seems lately I keep forgetting my camera when I go out. Where do you live that it’s still snowy? Personally I am glad for the spring! Sounds like wherever you are, you are “out” there somewhere…. sheesh, an hour to Target – don’t know if I could live with that, lol!

      • Southeastern ND is where I live. Have to cross the border into SD to get to any shopping or go east for 2 hours. Congratulations on the job Anne. I hope it all works out for you. Bonus on the shopping part of the job!

  2. Other than I don’t know how you can live without an Ikea within driving distance, it sounds great!!
    There are more malls and shopping places than there should be near where I live!

    Oh, and I understand about the friendship thing. One of my oldest friend’s mom died last week and she came back for the funeral and I realized that I hadn’t seen her in at least 3 years. She moved across the country about 5 years ago and I don’t have the money to travel. My other good friends don’t live close. So I don’t have any girl-friends that I can just hang out with, go shopping or go have a tea with or whatever. That is different than 15-20 years ago when life was about friends.
    Marissa has great friends but not really one Best Friend. I hope Kiki isn’t to upset about her friend. And yeah, you don’t want her to be to jaded….. but learning the good and the bad that come with people/friendships can only be a good thing.

    You and I can be on-line friends if you would like. You can email me.

    Shana

    • It is sort of strange, isn’t it, when you no longer have girl-friends to just hang out with? I went out to coffee last week with a ‘new’ friend, and it was like I didn’t know what to do with myself, it seemed so odd.
      You’re right, it’s good for Kiki to learn the good, the bad, and the ugly about relationships…. because it’s all out there!
      I may just take you up on that emailing!

Leave a Reply

