Monday Munchies ~ What we’re eating

Standard

 

First I have to say “sorry” that somehow I missed my Sunday Sweets post… yesterday just didn’t go the way it was supposed to!

Now, on to today… the above pic is of something we eat fairly often around here… Granny Smith apples, cheddar cheese, and raw almond butter.  Really yummy.  And crunchy, which seems quite important these days!

We’re eating a lot of eggs.  I mean a lot.  Which is okay because I really like eggs.  We are trying to come up with some different ways to make them, tho, because it can get kind of boring.  Here we have a puffy-unfolded-omelet type thing, and an egg with pesto (yum!).  Also some turkey sausage that doesn’t contain sugars of any kind (not real easy to find!)

This morning saw more eggs… another omelet, this time with onions, chicken and smoked gouda cheese…

I’ve been having a hard time making dessert-type stuff that actually tastes good; mostly I think because I despise stevia.  Tonight though, I finally hit on a keeper!  The key is this:  Xylitol made from birch trees.  This is way better than other xylitols, and a bajillion times better than stevia!  I made an almond meal crust with butter and xylitol, a chocolate topping from unsweetened chocolate, butter, xylitol and tahini, and then put raspberries on top…WOW!  Everyone in the family agreed that not only is it the best thing I’ve come up with so far, it is actually really yummy!  So that’s exciting.

My all time favorite treat at this point is a sugar-free chocolate I found at our health food store…. except that one stinkin’ bar costs over $3.00…. !!  Crap!  I can’t have those very often!

Leave a Reply

