Wasting Days

Standard

Do you ever look back at the end of a day and think “dang, I wasted this entire day?” I had one of those tonight.  I’m not sure what the deal is, but I’ve been in a funk all day.  Actually, for several days.  All I want to do is curl up with a good book and a lot of junk food.  A LOT of junk food.   Saturday night I stayed up ’til 4:30 in the morning, reading.  (I’m reading “The Help” and it’s really hard to put down!)  Today I took it into the bathroom with me (one of the downsides of living with your parents is that you feel like you’re not really allowed ‘down time’… like it would be wrong of me to just sit and read, instead of “doing” something… so, I very often end up reading in the bathroom because, well, no one is going to fault you for having to take a potty break, right?  Which is why I was up so late reading the other night… I hardly read at all during the daytime.) anyhow, I sat in there so long my butt was soooore!  And someone finally yelled at me, figuring I’d fallen in or something.  Geez.  But, the deal is, I’ve been feeling really, really good about the fact that I made it through the entire holiday season (Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years) without gaining even one single pound… I mean, that’s awesome, right?!  But now all of a sudden it’s like I can’t cram enough sugar and salt down my throat… I’m not sure what’s going on.  It’s not like I was feeling all deprived about the holidays – I was just really proud of myself.  Can’t be having any of that, I guess.   The one thing I’ve got going for me is that my mom hardly has any sort of interesting (read yummy and bad for you) food in the house.  That’s not how she rolls, I guess.  Which is probably why she doesn’t have any “rolls”…. me, I could start a tire factory.  I guess the good thing is, since I have to go somewhere to buy the stuff I am craving, it’s not happening nearly as often as I’d like.  Which is bad good.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

