Are people stupid, or just ignorant?

Standard

Tell me what you think…

I am sort of a nazi when it comes to car safety.  I think my car should be in good working order.  I don’t have alot of money, but I make sure I have tires that aren’t bald, good brake pads, seat belts…. pretty much the basics.  I believe in seat belts, and in using them correctly.  When my daughter was born, I read the booklets that came with my carseats, and put them in the car properly.  In fact, with all 3 seats from infant to toddler, I went to one of those free safety inspections the police sponsor, and each time was told I was the only person who had come through whose child seat was actually in correctly!  Really?? Sheezz.  I will not start the car when driving my daughter’s class on field trip until everyone is buckled up.  Correctly.  That means you may not have the shoulder strap under your arm! No one seems to comprehend the fact that shoulder belts don’t work that way!!  Morons?

So… here is the dilemma, and the question…..

Just over the last couple weeks,  there have been 3 separate occasions where my daughter has been riding in unsafe conditions (I didn’t know 2 of them until after the fact….)  One:  my sister’s car doesn’t have brakes, (okay, it must have some, but barely… I guess it takes for-ev-er to stop) but her husband seems to think it’s okay to drive it still.  As long as he goes slow, and stays far back.   Cause, hey, it will be expensive to fix!  More costly than the lives you will lose the day you can’t stop in time to avoid an accident??!  So, one day I found out my daughter had been driven in that car…. hey, risk your own necks if you want, but leave my family out of it!  Two:  my sister-in-law picked up my daughter for a sleepover.  Suddenly I am hearing “Oh, you two will have to double-buckle because that middle belt is broken.”  Who thinks this is okay??! Against my better judgement I let her go because – a) I was tired, I’d fought with her all the way over, this particular s-i-l is a total pain and I was not in the mood to hear the crap she’d pile on me if didn’t let my daughter ride with them – b) they only had a few blocks to go.  Total crap excuses, I know, and I prayed the whole way that they’d be safe.  Three:  My daughter went home with a friend after school.  She texts me on the way “mom, you’d be so unhappy if you knew what was happening”.  Great.  What?  Seems the mom has a 7 passenger van, and when she picked up her daughter and mine,  there were already 8 people in the car!   So two kids are double-buckled (again-really?!) one adult is on the seat without a belt, and one girl is sitting on the floor.  Yeah, my daughter was in a belt, but other unbuckled passengers can become missiles in the event of a crash.

Is it really that hard to understand?  Is it really that difficult to leave the excess people at home if you don’t have room in your car?  Is it really okay for you to endanger my child? Are you stupid, or just ignorant??!

Oh, that wasn’t really the question I wanted to ask…. I wonder, what would you do?  Do you let your kids roll around free in a car and hope for the best, or would you decline and always drive your kids yourself?

3 responses »

  1. The laws here must be stricter…we have to have our cars checked once every 6 months and certified roadworthy, including working seatbelts…otherwise can be ticketed etc, of course there are people who avoid these – but most people comply. Don’t envy you being in that position…cars are d-a-n-g-e-r-o-u-s.

Leave a Reply

