And the beat goes on….

Standard
Things are going along well.  We have a nice little school routine worked out ~  Bible study and devotions,  journaling, workbook pages in math, science, social studies, language arts, and colonial America, then reading classic literature.  I don’t have any "real" textbooks yet, but I found this great little workbook that basically covers all the highlights of what is taught in public school 6th grade, so we are doing those until we get our other stuff.  We are currently  reading "The Wind in the Willows".  I love the sound of the story, the way the words flow.  Kiki thinks it’s hilarious because the animals call each other "silly as*" when they deserve it.  I’m thinking that wasn’t a "bad word" back in early English days??  I mean, it just means "donkey"…..  We’ve gone on some good field trips, and some stuff on weekends with daddy (this past Saturday we went to the National Battlefield at Manassas.)  So we’re learning a lot of great stuff.  Kiki has an apologetics class one day a week (that is, defending your Christian faith) and an art class one day a week.  I want to start – hopefully next week – one day a week going into DC to do a Smithsonian museum.  That’s my plan, anyhoo.
 
On other fronts ~
 
I have rearranged the furniture in the apartment three times so far.  I just can’t seem to make it "work".  It’s just one room for everything, (I mean besides bedrooms) and rather oddly shaped, so I’m just not loving it so far.  I just moved about everything tonight while Kiki and Alan were out for "daddy-daughter night", so we’ll see if this arrangement works out!  I think my favorite "room" in the apt. (now that it’s cooled off some) is the patio/balcony.  We have a huge oak tree right next to us, and the other day we saw our first bright-red cardinal!
 
Kiki is still terribly homesick.  She cries about every other day.  She says when we go back for Christmas she is going to stay there.  (as if!!)  She is having a hard time wanting to make friends, because she doesn’t want new friends – she wants her old ones.  Sigh.  It’s hard to be the mom.
3 responses »

  1. It is very hard on children when they are moved around so my prayers are with you. The good news is somehow they grow up in spite of us and love us just the same. I know that feeling about small apartments and the wrong furniture. Keep your spirits up. LadyJ

  2. Your homeschooling plan sounds like fun. You are certainly in an amazing area to have some wonderful field trips. I pray that Kiki will become more comfortable with the move and want to reach out for a good friend. I\’m sure your space is becoming homey. The balcony with the oak and cardinal sounds great.Mariah has a new friend who recently moved here from New York. She\’s excited because her new friend had a chance to meet Taylor Swift! She lives in our small hometown and we can see her backyard from across our beanfield. It\’s nice to find a special friend to hang out with.Hugs

Leave a Reply

