Happy New Year!

Standard
I just want to wish you all a very Happy New Year!   Did you do anything exciting??  We have never been real big New Year’s revelers…. in fact, we were talking about it earlier, and in all the years we’ve been together, we’ve probably only been "out" celebrating in some way, oh, less than half a dozen times!  Guess we’re more of the "stay in and celebrate at home" type….. and that’s what we did.  This morning we went out to breakfast with my parents, then hung out with them for a bit, but tonight the three of us just watched movies, snacked, played our new game we got for Christmas (LIFE) and then had a glass of ‘bubbly’ at midnight (No, I’m not giving my kid champagne, people – it was sparkling juice!  Actually, sparkling Lingonberry juice from Spain – yummy!)  Kiki had illusions (delusions!!) of staying up all night long (I don’t know why, because that seems cool to a kid, I guess!) but she changed her mind, lol!  I’m the only one up, and that will change real soon…..
Tomorrow we will watch the Rose Parade.  For me, this is a really big deal.  When I was a kid, my grandparents lived just blocks from the parade route in Pasadena, so it was a tradition for us to go watch the parade.  Then, when I was older and in church Youth Group, we used to go as "Pedal Pushers" – courtesy of the Lutheran Hour, who have a float in the parade every year – and actually help decorate the floats – we’d glue and glop and stick tons of flowers and seeds and stuff on those things!  It was great fun!  Many years, we’d spend the night (sleeping outside, on the sidewalks!) and watch the parade the next morning.  I remember one year, I woke up with this very heavy feeling – there were people actually sitting on my sleeping bag while I was sleeping in it – total strangers!!  Then there was the year I stopped a guy from snatching a lady’s wallet out of her bag… he was behind us, she was ahead of us, and his arm came snaking thru to grab it (it was in plain sight; not smart of her) but, I just pretended to be jostled in the crowd, and crushed his arm between my side and my friend next to me so he couldn’t reach into the lady’s bag…. he had no idea I was doing it on purpose!  It seemed pretty funny to me at the time!  Anyway, good memories, so I watch it every year.  If we get up early enough, we’ll go watch it at my parents because they have better TV service… and mom will make breakfast!  Lol.  Only if I can go in my jammies.
 
Well, I can’t believe it is 2009…. whoa!  I hope you began it with the ones you love…. I’m glad I was able to!   Looks like 2009 is going to be a year of big changes for my little family…. Love, Peace, Hope and Joy to you!
4 responses »

  1. I\’ve never known someone who was involved with the Rose Parade! You are something else, Ann. Always full of surprises.Early last evening we went to my in-laws\’ house and feasted on bagels, cream cheese, Nova Scotia salmon with red onion, tomato and lettuce. Yum! The only good bagels I have ever had have been in the New York metropolitan area. We were home by 7:30 because Himself had to be up at 2:30 for work.Truth be told, I enjoy being alone. It was a good thing.Looking forward to all you have to share in the new year. blessings, g

  2. Hi Ann,sounds as though you had the perfect new year\’s eve and new year\’s day – breakfast in your jammies at your parents\’ house watching the rose bowl – fun! when is your move to virginia? can\’t wait to hear all about it!!!Lots of happiness and positive adventures to you and your family in 2009Caty 🙂

  3. Our tradition is to celebrate together with good munchies and movies. My teens were off with their friends so it was a very quiet night. Blessings in the New Year!

Leave a Reply

