Patty-pans and random internet searches

Standard
Have you ever stumbled across a word or a phrase that you just didn’t know, and you figured, "hey, I can find it on the internet!" then, much to your chagrin, you actually can’t??   Sometimes I get so aggravated (over inconsequential stuff, I know…)  Tonight, the book I read Kiki before bedtime was Beatrix Potter’s "The Pie and the Patty-pan".  Do YOU know what a patty-pan is??  Okay, you can basically deduce from the story that it is a little metal thing that was placed in the pie before baking to keep the crust from falling…. but, I wanted to see one, to find a ‘real’ definition, a picture, something…. well, HAH.  I got about a million sites about the story, and several more that said a patty-pan is a pan for baking patties in (what the…?? that’s just stupid)  and some that basically said like a tart pan….. Ugh.  It doesn’t matter a whit at the end of the day, but it’s made me rather grumpy.
 
We should all have such hard stuff to worry about, eh?! 
 
Oh, and yeah – there is a "Patty pan Squash", and it is a cute little ruffly-edged thing that looks like a tart pan, so "the truth is out there", somewhere…..
2 responses »

  1. Frustrating indeed.
    I am so sorry that you are having such a down time.  I pray that the peace that passes all understanding will be yours.  Always remember Prov. 3:5,6.  And when I am down, you can remind me! g

  2. Here is a site from the University of VA that has Potter\’s pictures with her story and she has a picture of a patty-pan on p.51.   Click HERE.
     
    I read your most recent blog first and am praying for you and your family, knowing what a stressful time this is, and am reminded that God is exactly on time in our needs as we are commited to Him.
     
    Love and hugs,
    Beth

Leave a Reply

