Stinkin’ Appliances!!

Standard
Today’s question is:  Why in the world is our manufacturing ability or quality control so poor that a  major appliance breaks down after 4 years???  My refrigerator is working again.  That’s the good news.  The bad news is, for a $25.00 part  I had to also pay $200.00 to have it installed!  Highway robbery at it’s finest, I believe they call that.  Now, if we’d not had our brains running overtime on other fretful matters, we probably should’ve talked to the refrigeration guys who do the work at  Alan’s shops and maybe we could’ve repaired it ourselves….duh.  All we could think was "Arrrgh!!  We need a refrigerator!!  Our food is rotting!!"  You live, you learn.   When I complained to the repairman about the darn thing quitting at such a young age, he told me that 4 years is a very typical life span of parts these days… what the heck??   My washer/dryer is like, 14 years old and it’s still working!  I know my parents have appliances older than that!  But he said "nowadays" it’s just not so good.  Doesn’t say much about the companies who make this stuff, does it?   He told me that certain parts always seem to go out, depending on the make and model…that in fact, when he read my work order, he automatically threw in one particular part, and ‘bingo’… that was the one that broke.  It was a…well, of course I forgot…. the motor "starter thingie" (yeah, I know you all love what a technical person I am!) it’s this 1 inch by 1 1/2 inch little plastic box.   Geez. 
But, hey…. I will praise God in all things…. I can now buy some half&half to put in my coffee!!  Two days without that has been a near-death experience!  Ha.  Not to mention I don’t have to go out on the back porch to get my orange juice or cheese… or fight the cat who is desperately trying to escape the confines of the house each time I open that back door…. 
  must….get….out….
 
6 responses »

  1. It\’s true.  My washer is 20 years old and going strong, my freezer is actually second generation (at least 30 years old) and never needed repair.  But the dishwasher is another story.  It\’s 2 years old and needs a new panel already.  Everything is supposed to be throwaway now I guess.  Keeps the economy going (?)  Frustrating! 

  2. Well, one of the reasons things break down so quickly "nowadays" is just because everything is made so much cheaper so that it\’s more affordable.  If they made it on the same quality level as the "old days", no one could afford it!  :o\\  Makes you want to laugh…but then….maybe not.  :oP 
     
    We bought a new washer and dryer when we moved into our house because in the 3 years prior, our dryer had quit twice.  Then, shortly after moving in, it quit again.  The first time, I did some troubleshooting online and found what I thought was the problem – a $13.00 part.  We ordered it and I was able to replace it myself after finding instructions online.  (Don\’t you love the internet???  lol)  The next time, I figured out what it was again…the same way…and it was a $25.00 part.  I wasn\’t sure how to replace that one, it was more involved, so hubby did that one.  This last time, neither one of us were very confident about what the problem was so we just bought a new one.  It was about time anyway.  That dryer was going on 15 years old.  lol
     

  3. OHMIGOSH! I seem to be in the same predicament as you! My husband is a freelance graphic artist and because of this darn economy he is losing work – so guess what?! After three years of retirement I am forced to look for work! I am going nuts! I applied for one job and was asked back for a second interview and then didn\’t get the job! So now I\’ve decided to go to a temp agency just to get my feet wet. Was there for four hours yesterday interviewing with them and then testing on Microsoft Word, Excel, Quickbooks and Account Clerk! It was absolutely grueling and I was exhausted when I got home. I am 57 years old (almost 58!) and I\’m too old for this!!! But I guess I have to just keep truckin\’! Good luck to you and your husband with your finances…it\’s a scary time but you\’ll pull through – let\’s keep in touch. Caty

  4. lol…our cat does the same…
    *~* :o) always remember to be happy… :o) because you never know who is falling in love with your smile… :o) *~*

  5. I forgot to mention the cat.  We keep a spray bottle with water in it by the door and when our cat tries to get out we show her the bottle.  It works.  She has been sprayed a few times and only needs to see it now to back off.

  6. Yeah, I have a 25 year old washing machine that sees about 10 loads a week.  I try not to use my 4-year-old oven more than once a week… guess which one is on the fritz?
     

Leave a Reply

