It’s the Week-End!! Yay!

Standard
My daughter is such a nut.  Yesterday morning when I woke her up to get ready for a day on the ski hill, she told me she would rather be going to school.  You know she hates going to school.  I was thinking how glad I was to have paid $75. for her to be miserable.  It all turned out okay, though.  Her ski boots went on without a hitch (she said, "Wow, they are fine today – I’m not even going to have to yell at you."  Huh??? That was my fault??)  Anyway, she had a better time (which I knew she would, you know, being the mom and all!) so all is well.  My mom enjoyed the snowshoeing – I am much more sore than last week.  The weather was fantastic!  Sunny and warm… I just wore a long-sleeved t-shirt, didn’t need a coat or gloves or hat…. wow.  I got a wicked blister on the back of one heel – I’m not sure why, as I was wearing the same shoes….bad socks, I guess?  Hmmmm.  We’ve decided (mom and I) that it would be great to have snowshoes for those times when it’s very snowy around the house, just for fun, or when we go to visit our friends at their cabin so we could walk around there, but to go up the hill and pay to use the trails…well, not so much.  It was great to experience it, though, and now we know.  The views are magnificent, though.  I didn’t take my camera  It’s a large digital camera, not a little one I could tuck in my pocket, and I just didn’t feel like messing with it.  Sorry.
We got back to the lodge about an hour after the ski lessons were over….my sister and Kiki were crashed on the floor in a pile of coats, napping!  Funny.  We had a full car this trip…with my mom, sister, daughter, niece, and a big grown up nephew… 3 snowboards and piles of other gear.  For once I felt like I was using the vehicle to it’s capacity!  The trip up was uneventful, but coming down the hill I slipped on a patch of slush-over-ice, and for a few very stressful moments I wasn’t sure if I was going to hit the uphill traffic head-on or careen into the snowbank on the shoulder… you all will be proud of me as not one bad word escaped my mouth!!  Ha.  Which is more than I can say for my sister!! lol.   I thought I was very calmly saying  "we’re okay, we’re okay, we’re okay" but to hear Kiki tell it I was "freaking out" and yelling those words….she’s probably right. 
I have to tell you, in those brief moments I wondered how my dad would react to losing his wife and 2 remaining daughters in one fell swoop….weird what goes through your mind.  And I wondered if we should make a rule that we can never travel together, lol!  But here I am…  
Well, Alan’s grumpy ’cause I’m blogging not cleaning…. nothing much new there!  He’s become pretty miserable in his job, and unfortunately we take the brunt of that at home.  I’m t rying to cut him some slack… I don’t let it bother me much…  maybe if I did I’d work  harder?   Nah.   Well, I’m off to make some breakfast!  Have a great day!
 
 
2 responses »

  1. Sounds like a great day, all in all!  So glad you all are safe.  Weird what goes through your mind…  When we were in the motorcycle accident, all I thought was, "Oh Man, this is going to hurt!!"  I\’m sure glad the witnesses were praying for us!  haha
    See you Sunday!   ….in spirit  🙂

  2. Can\’t skate or ski…my ankles don\’t like to be restricted.  Sounds like it was a nice family outing though.  Glad you weren\’t hurt.

Leave a Reply

