A Day on the Ski Hill

Standard
1st, though – thanks to everyone for your notes and comments…it’s appreciated!  Oh, and I guess I left out that the foster home is actually a Christian run organization…it’s just highly regulated by the state, even though less than 10% of their financial support is from the state – the rest is private donations.
 
Skiing!!
Yesterday was Kiki’s first ski day ever.  I thought we were never going to make it!  Not because of the drive up I’d been dreading…oh, yeah, it was as awful as I remembered….snow, ice, curves, and hairpin turns.  My car did great, though – had it in 4-wheel drive and never needed to use the chains…didn’t slip at all.  No, it was not the ride that was a killer – it was trying to get Kiki set and on the hill.  OH-my-gosh.  She whined about the boots (even though I’d warned her they would be tight and uncomfortable) then she was too cold and too hot and her legs hurt and the ski wouldn’t stay on her boot and "pleeeze can I just quit"…. and at this point all we’d done was get her stuff rented and made it to the lining up area.  It took everything I had – and the extra God provided – to not just strangle her right then and there.  She was rude, nasty and snarly.  I was actually kind of proud of myself for not totally losing it on her!  Well, I finally had her set and ready to hand over to the instructor, at which point she was down on her knees crying and refusing to get up… I just told her she was embarrasing herself (I’d used up all my niceness and "it’s going to be fun, you’ll see" speeches).  She got up; I went to the lodge to watch from inside.  Geez, what a nightmare!  If I hadn’t remembered my sister telling me the drama with her young daughter on her first year, I would have thought Kiki was a rotten little twit!  She did really good, though, and after her 2-hour lesson, she begged to keep skiing for awhile longer!  Kids, huh?!  It was freaky to watch her go up the lift without a grown up.  I decided I do miss skiing a little bit!  But, actually, I want to try snowboarding!  My sister, she took her first snowboarding lesson yesterday!  She’s older than me, so if she can do it, so can I!  Ha!  Better lose some poundage, though….
Guess what I did??!!
I had planned on just sitting in the lodge, watching the lessons on the bunny hill and maybe reading a book.  However –  a couple of the other moms asked me to go snowshoeing with them…and I DID!!  Whoa.  Who’da guessed!  I’ve wanted to try it, but like everything else, I’m so fat and out of shape that I don’t have much get-up-and-go…but, they had all the gear, so I gave it a whirl.  I really enjoyed it!  Sure, it nearly killed me, and sure, I wasn’t properly dressed (I wasn’t cold at all, I had a jacket and gloves and headband, but my jeans were frozen on about the bottom four inches!) but, still, it was a blast! 
 
I got a couple pictures before my camera battery went dead…Alan said maybe it got too cold?  Anyway, I’ll post them…
6 responses »

  1. HAHAHAHA!!!  That first ski lesson can be tramatic!!!  Glad she ended up doing well and wanting more! 
     
    It\’s been awhile since I\’ve been here but I hope to correct that!  Hope you had a GREAT weekend!!
     
    Take care,
    Bob~

  2. Hi Ann,
    I\’m so glad that Kiki ended up having a good time skiing.  And great for you with the snowshoeing!  Sounds like me when I went skiing in December. 
    As soon as it warms up a little I plan to get my cross country skis out.
    Snowboarding?  Yikes…  But I have no doubt you can do it if you want to!
     
    Take care…

  3. i didn\’t like skiing…too clumbsy…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  4. Sounds like a fun day – cold, but fun!!  I\’ve never skied but it looks like a blast. Snoeshoeing – that does sound like too much hard work to go for a walk. 🙂
     
    Take care and enjoy your week!
    B

  5. You know, I\’ve been thinking about trying that as well- Sam is a snowboarder & I end up knitting & reading in the lodge; it didn\’t think I\’d be able to do it since I\’m pretty big….

Leave a Reply

