About my hair….

Standard
Most of my life, I would never have said I loved my hair.  Oh, for awhile in Jr. Hi. it was the fashion to have long, super straight hair, and that’s what I had, so I didn’t hate my hair… but I never loved it.  As fashions changed and it became stylish to have curly hair, oh, how I suffered!  My hair was so straight that I could sleep in curlers all night, and still by the time I arrived at school all the curl that remained was some odd lump to remind me of what I had attempted to do.  I have to say, I love the fact that current fashion sensibilities will allow for a hundred different hairstyles to be "in".  It’s not like when I was a kid and you had the ONE fashionable ‘do’ (a la Farrah Fawcett, or the like) or you were just uncool.  Period.   Advance several years…. I am 35 years old, living in Washington state, and pregnant for the first time ever.  I have no idea which (or all) of these things factored in, but my hair became…. curly.  The hair you see in the pics is my natural hair.  Well, except for the blonder bits on the very top… I gave that part a little help .  After an entire lifetime of hair that wouldn’t even hold a curl, it now does it by itself.  Weird.  And I LOVE it!  Recently however, it’s been a bit….limp.  I think it’s because we now live in a dry, dry land.  A bit different from Seattle where it all started!  So, it’s been bugging me.  Well, last week, I splurged…. I went to a "Salon and Spa" and paid a load of money to get myself a really nice haircut, and wow, what a difference it made!  The pics are the result of a little bit of well-done layering.  That’s all.  I’m a happy camper once again.
 
B-T-W ~  I highly advise treating yourself to a little pampering!  I hadn’t done this in….well, to be honest, I can’t even remember when.  Ever since I gained a bajillion pounds, I just haven’t felt "worthy" of spending money on.  I buy new pants when my old ones rip.  I buy shoes when I must have them.  And haircuts?  My sister will do it for free.  She’s not trained, but she does a pretty decent job.  But, Oh-My-Gosh!!  This place, it was so beautiful….relaxing little waterfalls around, wonderful scents, offers of tea or coffee or a soda when you arrive… then, I got an oil scalp massage by this guy before my cut, then another massage while my hair was washed…. I could have died happy right then!  My stylist was a young gal with pink and blond hair and plenty of tatoos; she was super nice, and wow, the haircut just brought my curls back to life!  And one of the best parts?  I told Alan I was feeling rather guilty about the expense, and he told me not to feel bad at all, that I deserved it, and he was totally glad I had done it.  It doesn’t get much better than that.
   
OH ~ I also bought myself two pairs of shoes "just because", as well as four new shirts!  I’m just going wild!!   heehee
4 responses »

  1. That is wonderful that you were able to treat yourself to a day at the salan.  I\’m just like you.  I rarely spend money on myself.  I think it does have to do a lot with the old weight issue.  A few years ago when I lost a ton of weight and was finally a normal size for the first time in my life, I started to have my nails done every few weeks.  It was so nice having pretty nails all of the time.  Now that I have gained the weight all back, I don\’t treat myself to nails anymore.  I really miss that luxury, but can\’t bring myself to spend the money on myself right now. 

  2. Ahh, that sounds wonderful.  Makes even Cheapskate Jane want to give up her Fantastic Sams cut and go for a little pampering.
    I have to say, I would KILL for hair like yours.  It looks fantastic! 

  3. I love your hair too.  I have tried growing mine out, but once it lays on my head flat like a pancake, I get it cut!  As for the spa, now you know how I feel when my friend treats me to a manicure and pedicure – totally spoiled and totally relaxed.  I am glad you treated yourself. What fun!
    Kathleen 

  4. Wish I could see your pictures but, unless it is in the body of the entry it won\’t load for me.  I am sure it is great, though.  My hair has gotten curly as I grow older but it was never pin straight.
     
    Take care of yourself, gail 

Leave a Reply

