The 50th Anniversary Party

Standard
I nearly forgot to post about this!  The party on Sunday went very well.  We held it in my parent’s back yard, so thankfully it did not get quite as hot as expected.  It was very warm, but not unbearably so.  Kiki got to use her ‘bossiness’ in a good way, as she led arriving guests around to the side gate.  She mentioned to someone that "50 years is a big deal – most people get divorced or die first."  LOL.  We did a garden theme, so we cleaned up my mom’s potting bench to put drinks on, and used the plastic tub in it for ice.   My sister used to be a florist, so she made some amazing arrangements for all the tables.  We had some out under a tree, and we hung lots of little ‘pretties’ in the tree, and the food turned out good also.  We had just the right amount of guests….you never know when it’s an Open House type deal, but there were plenty of my parent’s friends but not crazy crowded.  Which was nice, because a lot of the guests came and stayed the whole time.  It was fun for my parents, and that, of course, was the whole point!  We put up a bunch of old photos of "50 years of life together" and we all got a big laugh at the way the car and motorcycle pics outnumbered family pics!  My dad is obsessed.  I believe my inheritance would be much, much greater if they hadn’t spent all their income on autos!   lol.  Afterwards, I washed dishes until I wanted to puke… but, yet, I am still alive!  It was interesting how many people seemed truly impressed that my sister and I gave this party for my parents…. I mean, of course we would do it!   Would many children not do this for their parents?  Because it sounded like we were doing something so impressive, and yet I cannot imagine not having done it…??!   Anyway, it was fun, it worked out great, I am glad it’s over….!!  Now, I can clean my own house…  (hahaha – as if) 
6 responses »

  1. Hey thanks for stopping by…what a privelege to be able to throw a 50th anniversary for your parents.  My grandfather, the one in the pic, he and my grandmother were married over 50 years…but I remember my mother, her brother & sister threw them a 50th party…had a wedding cake and everything.  Those are great memories to add to the ones they already have….
    Grace to you
    Shell

  2. Sounds fantastic! Good job!!
    and Kiki is soooo right.. most ppl do end up divorced or DEAD first! Awww, the innocence of youth! ;o)
     
    Happy Independence Day!
    weimie

  3. ENJOY YOUR WEEK!
     
    g.j.
     
    ´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ ´¶¶¶¶¶´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´´´´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´´´´´´´´´¶¶¶¶´´´´´´´´´´´´¶¶

  4. Hi, Ann.  I found you!  Great to be reading and "seeing" you again.  Let me catch up on your life while I\’m here.  Take care, sweetie!

  5. One thing I always keep in mind for events like these.  Paper plates!  I don\’t care how fancy or non-fancy it is, I don\’t want to do dishes afterward so that is all I will use.  If you can\’t throw it away, I\’m not using it! 🙂  My apologies to the landfills!
     
    Take care,
    Amy

Leave a Reply

