Back in Black

Standard
Guess What???  I am sitting at a real desk tonight!  Yay!!  Yep, the furniture is in and – well, somewhat set up… I did the computer desk first, as I was tired of the sore bum….  I think, that when all is said and done, the room is going to look good.  Even Alan, who likes black, well, I think he wasn’t so sure… when I set up my desk and set my hot-pink bin on it and my wild little mouse pad, his comment was "wow, I think it’s going to look really good when you get it done!"  Well, of course it is, oh ye of little faith!  Of course, the school-room posters like the ‘Presidents’ and ‘Multiplication Chart’ sort of mess with the plan, but then again, school is the plan, so that’s how it’s gonna be.    Remember what I said about oil based paint?  I take it back.  Geez, what a pain!  It took forever to dry; we actually drug the pieces out to the back porch to ‘bake’ in the sun for a day…and I still got black paint on my carpet!  (yeah, I got it out.)  You can see a lot of mistakes, too… brush strokes, slightly covered spots….oh, well.  No one is going to notice that stuff when it’s all in here.  The good thing is, the sun (or the drying process in general) mellowed out the shine a bit…it was like, lacquer-glossy!!  Not now.  Which is good.   I just have to finish the door of the cabinet.  I bought some scrapbooking paper, and I am going to put it over the metal insets in a collage sort of way using Mod-Podge.  We’ll see if it looks as good in ‘real life’ as it looks in my head!   Oh, and I need to get some fabric to recover my chair seat.  It’s an antique, so I didn’t really want to paint it…but I can put some cool bright fabric on to coordinate it….I hope!  I’ll put some pics up – someday – of the finished room – if I ever get it finished. 
Leave a Reply

