Oh, the Inequities of Life!

Standard
I suppose entries under this title could fill volumes, but I will just speak of one today….one that has been bugging me lately.  I know there are far greater injustices in the lives of others….but the only life I can live is my own, and I am just irritated….  If you have been paying attention here (lol) you know I adore horses.  They have been, at times, my life.  I have been "horseless" for a few years now, and it just seems rotten.  I have a nice, new home in a tidy, quality subdivision.  I’d give it up in a heartbeat for a shack on some acreage where I could keep a horse.  (I mean, sure, a nice house on property would be even better, but I mean I would take a shack if that was the trade-off!)  So here is where my frustration comes in…in just the last couple weeks, I have had four different people tell me they are selling – or have sold – their home on acreage because they just were tired of the upkeep and just wanted a little yard.   These are all people who did not have the acreage because they wanted animals on it….horses, anyway.  Two of them had, in past years, raised a steer to butcher (how you can eat an animal that grew up in your own backyard I’ll never know, but that’s another story…)  but overall, they just "happened" to have bought on acreage, maybe because they wanted a big yard for their kids….okay, dang it!!  Where is my acreage??!  I would actually put it to use!!  
Well, there you have it…my rant for today! 
2 responses »

  1. I can sympathize, I would love to have some "acreage" too.  Probably not to raise horses, but mainly for Lilla to have room to explore and for my dog to have somewhere to chase bunnies or something.  Oh well, I guess it\’s not in the cards for us right now.  That\’s what comes with living in a city.  There are benefits for sure, but they give you a postage stamp for it!
     
    Take care,
    Amy

  2. We live in a small town, but in "town" nonetheless. There is a lot of farmland here (out away from where I live) and many MANY horses… it\’s definitely one of those things that gets in your blood, so I\’ve been told. I\’ll pray for it to work out of you if that\’s the way its supposed to be!
    Happy Easter!
    weimie

Leave a Reply

