Wow! I’m so proud I could burst!

Standard
The talent show was so great!  This is the 3rd year we’ve done it, and it was definately the best.  The last 2 years we just did the talent show in the gym at the end of the meal, but this year the "powers that be" decided to move the talent show part into the church sanctuary.  It was so much better because ~ A) comfortable seats! B) a good sound system already in place C) people weren’t milling around, refilling drinks, etc. – they were sitting and watching.  D) you didn’t have a bunch of people leaving as soon as their kids were done, so even the last performers had a full audience.  And, that very last performer!  She sang this ‘goodbye song’, she’s an 8th grader I think….geez, she could sing professionally!  She did sound like a Charlotte Church!  I was impressed this year by the amount of talent our group of school kids have!  Not bad at all for a bunch of homeschoolers. Every age from pre-K up to the 9th graders participated.  Better yet, all the students were sitting together, and not only did they behave nicely, they stood up and whooped and clapped for each and every act.  They are so supportive of each other!  I can’t say enough about what a great bunch of kids are in our homeschool co-op.
 
When it was Kiki’s turn, both Alan and I were so nervous for her we almost wanted to not watch!  My mom recalled how she used to get almost physically ill when she’d watch my sister compete at her ice skating competitions.  When Kiki first got up to the mike, her "hamminess" overtook the shyness, and she said very nice and clear "I’m going to sing "Cry out to Jesus" because it’s my mom’s favorite song, and I wanted to do it for her."  Awwww.  But then, she said "She’s right back there – stand up, mom!!"  I did not stand up! I turned a nice shade of red, and waved… then my nephew and his best bud (they’re 8th graders) started yelling "stand up Auntie Annie, stand up!!"   Geez.  Finally she began her song.  She did a fantastic job, and I’m not just saying that ’cause I’m her mom!  I had several people come up to me after and tell me how impressed they were.  And one gal, who just so happens to be in our church’s praise band, told me my daughter had a wonderful voice!!   I was just glad her turn was over  and I could breathe again! 
 
 
5 responses »

  1. I know exactly what you mean. Watching someone you know personally compete is always so intense. For example, every time I used to watch my younger sister compete in fencing I would get really nervous about the official turn out.Congratulations on your daughter\’s achievement!!!  May she have many  more homeschooling success stories to follow!

  2. WooHoooo! Way to go Kiki!!
     
    (And for the proud mom… good job!) I\’ve been reading.. just hadn\’t found time to comment lately!

  3. What a personality and stage presence that Kiki has!!!  I\’m so glad she did wonderful – I\’m sure your heart was bursting with pride!  🙂
     
    Have a great weekend!
    B

Leave a Reply

