Is there life out there??

Standard
Sure, but I haven’t been in on it…!  Wow.  This week it will be February.  The month of January was pretty much a wash-out for me.  This morning at church I had two different people tell me I "looked like" I was feeling much better….ooh, how crappy was I looking??  I do feel tons better!  Like, maybe this week I can even begin to put away my Christmas decorations.  Really.  Haven’t even started on that yet; only the tree was taken down, the rest remains.  My living room looks like a twister came thru it…yeah, a twister named Kiki.   Don’t even ask about her bedroom, or the playroom!  And I’m pretty sure we still have a kitchen table, buried somewhere under a month’s worth of mail and paperwork.   
 
On a totally different note, we had a dance lesson at church last night…our event was called "The Dance of Marriage" and we had a nice speaker who talked about how marriage is like a dance – how the man is supposed to lead, and how we need to be in sync, etc., and she also taught us the Tango!  It was so much fun!  Even Alan wants to take dance lessons now!  My feet hurt.  In two weeks we are putting on our Valentines Banquet.  It’s really a nice event, but so much work!!  I get tired just thinking about it.  Alan and I are in charge this year, and we are not being very good about getting it together…event co-ordinators we are not.  Give us a task, we’ll gladly do it…but to be on top of all of it….not so much. 
 
Life with Kiki   "Mom, what’s a scarlet letter?"  This question came floating up to the front seat of the car, and smacked me in the head.  It came about because of a new song by Casting Crowns that was playing on the radio. ~all we see is her scarlet letter, and we never even met her ~ Don’t tell me kids don’t listen to the words!  What is the best way to answer that?  I read the book…did they really do that in Puritan times??  I don’t know.  I’ll be honest and say that for a brief moment I thought about saying "well, scarlet is red, so it’s a letter that’s the color red."  Yeah, lame, I know!  So, I was honest and explained to her what they meant by it in the song.  It actually gave us a great opportunity to have a good talk about sin, and forgiveness, grace and mercy…are any of us clean and perfect?  No.  Does that mean we permanently mark and ostracize those whose mistakes are more obvious than others?  No.  How did Jesus live?  I love teaching opportunities; even if it pulls me a little bit outside my comfort zone sometimes (I mean, really, how much does my 9 year old have to know about sex??   We’ve already discussed more than I wanted to at this point…but maybe she won’t be a total ignoramous like I was!) 
 
This week begins a very busy time for us…I am thankful to be physically up for it!  Kiki starts gymnastics, dance, and swim lessons this week…I suppose I ought to start something like…oh, the treadmill…or the washing machine…or a combination thereof…
 
                                                                     busy busy busy
7 responses »

  1. Excellent job Mom with the teaching moment!! You did good!! I love/hate those moments… and usually never feel quite prepared to answer them!
     
    Cool about the dance lessons… that\’s wonderful! And glad to hear you\’re feeling (and looking) better! ;o)
     
    weimie

  2. Glad you feel more "back".  Don\’t push too hard.
    On "the talk"… I was really blessed with girl/boy twins… the talk just kind of grows up with them.  And then I was pregnant when they were 9, so they got a more in depth course, much to the chagrin of my daughter!  And then they were witness to the birth (scare tactics? hmmm).  Sam will still ask something every once in a while that means he\’s still working it all out.  No, not the easiest conversations, but better from me than some kid their own age!

  3. So happy to hear that your spirit has lifted, Ann.  It\’s rotten to have the winter blahs.
     
    For years I have wanted to take dance lessons with my dh.  Just recently, though, I figured out that I have two left feet!  I guess I always knew it but just held hope that I would become graceful!  Oh, well.  I hope you and your dh will take the lessons and have wonderful, romantic times together.  You will be "that couple" at wedding receptions!
     
    Corrie Ten Boom\’s works have many great lessons in them.  The one you mentioned I had forgotten.  Thank you for the reminder.  gail

  4. I am so sorry to hear about your sister.  That must have been horribly hard to lose her at such a young age.  How wonderful that you were able to "grow up" before it was too late.
     
    Sounds like you are going to be busy in the next couple of weeks.  I\’m sure you will do a great job with the Valentine event.  My sister used to call it Valloween before she met/married her husband.  Funny. 🙂
     
    Take care and keep getting better!
    Amy

  5. I\’m so glad you are feeling better!  Plus, you handled the educational moment better than I could ever hope to.  🙂

  6. I love that song.   I think of it often when I think of those whose hearts are breaking with no hope in Christ.  Especially the words "All the lost and lonely people searching for the hope that\’s tucked away in you and me." I also think of it when I see judgement being cast …. "loft glances from loft people, judgement looms under ever steeple"…..
     
    I hope all goes well with the Valentine Banquet planning.  🙂
     
    Happy dancing,
    B

  7. I love that song.   I think of it often when I think of those whose hearts are breaking with no hope in Christ.  Especially the words "All the lost and lonely people searching for the hope that\’s tucked away in you and me." I also think of it when I see judgement being cast …. "loft glances from loft people, judgement looms under ever steeple"…..
     
    I hope all goes well with the Valentine Banquet planning.  🙂
     
    Happy dancing,
    B

Leave a Reply

