It’s all over except the mess…pooh

Standard
Sigh.  This is the part of Christmas I don’t like.  When it’s all over; and that seems to come so quickly after such a long build-up leading to the day.  I’m feeling a little down, tho I am trying not to let it get to me…after all, I still have a week of ‘school vacation’ left!  That’s good for something! 
We had a really nice Christmas…went to church Christmas Eve for a short, caroling service, then over to my sister’s for tamales.  There were about 28 people there I think; it was a fun night.  All the kids got their new ‘grammy jammies’.  Even my ’20-something’ nephew still enjoys getting them!  Then it was home again, where I was up until 2am wrapping gifts and getting those last minute preparations done.  Every year I say I am not going to be up all night…but Alan says it wouldn’t be a ‘real’ Christmas if I wasn’t.  He "stays up" with me…haha…that is to say, he sleeps on the couch in the living room while I am in there working… We technically had a ‘White Christmas’ as there was snow on the ground, and it looked quite lovely.  (Last night it rained, so all the snow is gone now)  We had given Kiki clear instructions that she was not to wake us up before 6am…and at 6:01, there she was!  Uhg.  As I get older, it is more and more difficult to function on 4 hours of sleep!  So we did the gift opening, had our breakfast of Creme Brulee French Toast Casserole (pretty dang good, but not quite as awesome as it sounded) and bacon, and ‘bubble juice’ (sparkling cider!)  No matter how much coffee I sucked down, I was still wiped out, so at 9am I went back to bed for a short nap.  Got back up at 10am, got our poop-in-a-group and headed down to my mom’s house.    The plan for Christmas Day was just to drop in at mom and dad’s whenever, hang out as long or short as you wanted, whatever.  And bring snacks!  When we first got there, my younger bro-in-law and his new wife were there already.  Her son from her first marriage was with them (he’s generally with his dad, who has custody, and she pays child support.  I don’t know a thing about the whys and wherefores with that situation).  This kid – I think he’s 11 or 12 – my gosh, I’ve only met him like, 4 times, and he is about the most obnoxious kid I’ve ever met.  He doesn’t seem to have any training about manners or decent behaviour.  I think I blogged about how he ruined my birthday trip to the fair…his motto is that "it’s only wrong if you get caught" and he tries hard to live by that, it seems.  My family and I had barely gotten in the door at my parents when he came up to me saying "Did you get me a present?  Where’s my present?"  And just totally in my face about it.  None of my nieces or nephews would do that.  He kept grabbing stuff away from the other kids, stealing candy out of my parents’ stockings that were still over by the fireplace, on and on…I know this is horrible, but I am not happy that he is a part of our family now.  I don’t trust him around the younger girls, my daughter included.  He’s – well, not trustworthy.  I’m glad he isn’t around much – although maybe it would help him, I don’t know.  Anyway, they didn’t stay too long because they were going to spend time with her side of the family, so that was cool.  Then my older sis and her family showed up, and we had a really great time just hanging out.  In the evening we eventually made our way back home, and I actually went to bed by 9pm!  That was weird, but I was so exhausted.  I slept til 9am the following morning!  12 hours!  I guess I was tired!!  All in all, it was a really nice Christmas.  I am grateful to the Lord that, for the most part anyway, I have a really great family.  I think we are pretty blessed. 
Yesterday, we took Kiki and her cousin N. ice skating.  They had a great time.  We (the moms and grandmas) sat out in the warm part of the building drinking coffee.  We had fun, too!     
Well, tonight actually begins Christmas #2 as my mother-in-law flies in this evening and will come loaded with more gifts for Kiki.  My daughter has never had just one Christmas.  Can you say ‘Spoiled’?  I suppose, then, I ought to get my bootie out of this chair, turn off the computer, and get busy… my house is a total disaster zone of Christmas chaos.  I’ll need to get the house tidied for her visit, get some groceries in the house, and try to think of some things to do to keep her entertained during her visit.  So much for vacation.  I mean, I don’t dislike my m-i-l, I just stress out when she comes because I feel like I need to do stuff so she’ll have a good time… it’s just not really relaxing.  Sigh.  And I haven’t got a single coffee bean in this house!  How did that happen?!!  Guess I will have to drive thru the local espresso stand before I get started… hehehe.   
2 responses »

  1. First and most importantly – I hope you got some coffee in the house!!!  Now that is a cause for alarm! 
     
    Sounds like for the most part your Christmas celebrations were great – sorry about the grafted in nephew\’s issues.  It sounds like he is really screaming for attention.  I don\’t know if I could handle him so graciously 😦 
     
    Enjoy Christmas #2 and don\’t get too exhausted to drop by some time!!!
     
    Take care!
    B
     
    PS:  The creme brulee french toast sounds AWESOME.  I would love the recipe sometime!! 

  2. Ok late night blogging buddy – well, it\’s probably later where you are at….. Yes, I would have been mad if my son had done that with my daughter in the car!  Although, Em would probably have said "Coo"l too.  She is waaaay too sheltered!
     
    I do have to work tomorrow so I have no clue why I\’m still up!
    Good night!

Leave a Reply

