YAY! It’s Christmas Vacation!

Standard
Ho HO Ho HO!!!!    No more school for 2 weeks!  When you are the teacher, this is certainly every bit as exciting for you as for your children.  The only way this would be an even happier event is if I weren’t sick.  I had a wicked head cold, but after a week it wasn’t getting better…so, I went to my doctor, and it seems I have a sinus infection, so I am on antibiotics, and my doctor also put me on an inhaler, because last year I had pnuemonia and she wants to be sure it doesn’t go that far again.  Yehaw.  This is my 2nd day of meds, so I am actually feeling a bit better.  On Monday night, I had to stay up late to get Kiki’s elf costume put together… you know, she believes that any occasion is a good one to dress up in a costume.  I was going to take the elf shoes to my mom’s so I could sew them up on her machine, but since I was sick, I didn’t want to go spread germs at my parent’s house… so, I had to sew them by hand.  They turned out fine, but it took me forever.  Today, a couple of Kiki’s neighborhood friends came over to play, which was great because it gave me the time to actually get something done… I did all of my Christmas cards!  Okay, they may be a bit late, but some of them will arrive before Christmas… last year I forgot to send any at all, so I am ahead of the game!  Then in the afternoon, after her friends left, we made our Gingerbread house.  It turned out pretty cute.   I also got some cleaning done today, so things are moving along to be ready for Christmas.  Tonight, Kiki and I set up the card table in front of the fireplace and did a puzzle… of course, "Mr. Grumpy Gills" was like "you are not leaving that table up… I don’t want the living room cluttered up from now until Christmas…"  What- ever.  Sheesh.  Tomorrow I am going to take Kiki to do the last (I hope) of our shopping.  Alan now has the cold, (which is a big cause of the grumpiness) and of course he is waaay more sick than I am.  He is such a big baby!  I really hope his doesn’t turn into anything but the cold, or it may be a miserable holiday.   Well, Kiki has decided she is ready to shut off her movie and go to bed… so, it’s time for prayers, a story, and a song… g’nite then!  
6 responses »

  1.  
    I hope you feel better – momma\’s have so much to do that the family can\’t function without her!!  You are soooo crafty – making the cute elf costume.  I really wish I had at least one creative bone in my body, but alas, it is not to be.
    Have a great night!
    B

  2. Huh, doesn\’t like seeing people in costume, but likes dressing up… I haven\’t run into that one before!  Glad you are starting to feel better.  My allergies have been a mess for about 3 years now.  All the while, me refusing to go to an allergist because I KNOW they will want to do that "100 shots in the back" scratch test that I hate!  It is the only medical procedure I have ever had that made me cry!  And I\’ve had a c-section!  Soooo, I have to keep an inhaler with me and I have to use it way too much!  As soon as the insurance kicks in, I\’m making the appointment!
    Don\’t overdo!
    Yes, do go to Santa Claus, IN if you get a chance… hope it doesn\’t click with Kiki about her letter, though! 🙂

  3. Hi Ann,
     
    Thanks for dropping by again! I like your space… I need to spend some time here when I get a chance. Get all caught up!! Today is my last day of work until after the holidays too… and needless to say, I\’m EXCITED!!! woohoooo!!
     
    Have a Merry Christmas!
    weimie

  4. Hi Ann, thanks for dropping by my space.  I am happy that you are feeling better because this is just an awful time to get sick.  Hope you will feel 100% when you family gathers together for Christmas.  I wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a blessed 2007.

  5. Hi Ann:  Glad to hear that you are feeling better.  Now just relax and enjoy this wonderful time of year.  I\’m wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

