Christmas Kick-off (NOT football!)

Standard
Football is what Kiki and Alan are watching at this very moment…which is why I am not hanging out with them.  It just bores me to death.  Other than that, it’s been a nice, long weekend.  Mostly.  On Friday I took Kiki and we went to the Christmas Tree Festival downtown.  We usually go with other family members, but this year we just felt like going on our own…we were feeling a little ‘familied out’,  I guess!  We really enjoyed ourselves.  We even got to park in an ever-so-cool parking garage, which is always an exciting thing for a child!  Friday nite one of Kiki’s cousins came to spend the night.  This was one she doesn’t see quite as often, so they had a blast playing together.  We all (except Alan) got up very early on Saturday morning to go downtown once again, this time for the Christmas Parade.  Little down-home parades are hilarious, I think!  Where else would you find a street-sweeper, not at the end cleaning, but actually a part of the parade??  A whole gang on their Harleys, followed by a bunch of young guys on their crotch rockets.  The local kids gymanstics group.  Anyone who can pull some kind of group together can march…it’s just so funny!  Oh!  We even had a van full of seniors from a local retirement home!  heehee.  And yet, I love it… I go every year.  Alan cannot figure me out at all, and just supposes it is one more area in which I am nuts.  This year we joined the big league, as we actually had two giant balloons in the parade!  We are so ‘big city’.  HA.  We found the best parking space ever so we didn’t have to hike with our chairs and blankets.  Which is so unlike the days when I went to the Tournament of Roses Parade in Pasadena when I was younger…!!  Those are stories in themselves, and I will definately have to share those one day.  After the parade, the girls and I walked around downtown, wandering in some of the nice shops, and then had bagels and cream cheese for lunch… and, while we were in the little cafe, two employees gave up their reindeer antlers to the girls…so it was a great day!! 
 
I blew this lovely weekend by allowing the cousin to spend a 2nd night…this is never a good idea, as they seem to get sick of each other… I know this, I know this… and yet, I said ‘yes’.  I can be a great fool.  It wasn’t too bad at first…then, this morning, Alan discovered we had no coffee whatsoever, so he ran out and bought me an eggnog latte!  He so totally rocks!!  Then the trouble began… clothing troubles, hair troubles, blah blah blah… then at church the ‘other cousin’ became involved… why is it that 3 little girls simply cannot get along??  One is always left out, and because Kiki is the youngest, it’s usually her.  So we had a post-Sunday School meltdown…after that (and a little lecturing from Alan and I to the girls involved) the day once more looked up; so all in all, it’s a good beginning to my Christmas season.
5 responses »

  1. So… was this the infamous "busted" blog? 
    You will have to write about going to the Rose Parade sometime – I\’ve lived in So. CA my entire life and never attended in person.  I don\’t want to wake up that early!
    B

  2. So… was this the infamous "busted" blog? 
    You will have to write about going to the Rose Parade sometime – I\’ve lived in So. CA my entire life and never attended in person.  I don\’t want to wake up that early!
    B

  3. So… was this the infamous "busted" blog? 
    You will have to write about going to the Rose Parade sometime – I\’ve lived in So. CA my entire life and never attended in person.  I don\’t want to wake up that early!
    B

Leave a Reply

