Be Afraid, Be Very Afraid

Standard
Wednesday, we (Kiki and I) were doing our schoolwork, and we’d done everything except for math.  Now, to be fair to me, it had been a rough morning.  Rougher than usual.  Kiki had been sent to the "time out corner" (okay, it’s really the bathroom, because that’s the farthest I can send her that is still upstairs with me!) like, 5 times.  She was having a rotten, snippy little attitude and I decided I really didn’t have to put up with it.  As you can imagine, this was making our school day d r a g.  I was getting totally worn out.  We had finally gotten through with everything except the aforementioned math.  She pulls out her workbook, and immediately she has new stuff she hasn’t learned yet…changing fractions to decimals.  Like, 4/10 = 0.4 = four-tenths.  Not exactly rocket science, right?  Yeah, but for the life of me, I could not figure out how to explain it to her!  I mean, I know I could have just said "if it’s this it’s also this and this" and because she is bright, she’d have gotten it.  Why I didn’t do just that, I honestly don’t know.  I really wanted her to understand why, and I had…..nothin’.  I just sat there, staring at the page, like, "duh".  I pulled out the teacher’s guide – have I mentioned that the teacher’s guides stink??  It reads, and I quote "The student shall be able to write the decimal corresponding to a given fraction."  Yeah, no kidding??!!  But how???    Alright, it did go into a bit more detail on the next page, but seriously, I just read it and read it and finally said "Forget it!!  We are done with school!!  I don’t know how to explain this to you!"  Third grade math and I am stumped.  Criminy.  On Thurdsay, my sis and I dropped off the kids at the Co-op, then I took her to coffee.  Over coffee I’m explaining my brain-fade to her, and she is like "you know, blah blah blah…" and I totally got it all of a sudden…as if I’d never forgotten.  So I’m really looking forward to, say, Algebra.  shudder  When I picked Kiki up after school on Thursday, she told me "yeah, the teacher explained it…I totally get it, it’s easy."   Sigh.  Don’t tell my inlaws!! 
5 responses »

  1. That\’s funny … I was just telling Amber\’s teacher that I don\’t understand why they don\’t just start adding double digits like they did when I was in 2nd grade. To me, it\’s silly that they have to explain it 50 different ways first! Or to "conceptualize" it or whatever. Simple addition is so much easier! But of course that\’s not good enough these days. Then I told her how my sister and I approach things totally differently. For example, if you tell me that 4/10 = .4, I would get it, be fine, and ready to move on. My sister on the other hand, has to know why and how and agonize for hours over the concept.
     
    I\’m guessing you\’re a "why" person? 😉

  2. Hi, my name is Brenda and I\’m a big math dummy.  My daughter\’s 5th grade math is beyond me….. when they have "trick questions" in her workbook – they stump me! 

  3. Hey I wasn\’t done… it posted my half comment (well, I suppose if I wasn\’t so talkative, it could be a whole comment!) … Anyway… I\’m always praying for you with the homeschooling – what an awesome responsibility.  I really admire you for taking on this tremendous task. 
     
    Blessings!
    B

  4. Wow, Ann, I am SOOOOO awful in math, always have been, always will be.  By the time my girls hit 3rd grade I sent them to their dad for homework help, and by the time they hit Junior High, they had to rely on what the teacher could explain in the classroom.  I have NEVER understood math!
     
    The park you\’re talking about where you went sledding is "Sugarhouse Park".  We don\’t live very close to that particular park, but all three of my girls have been involved in sledding activities at one time or another there.  We have gone there several times during the 4th of July, as they put on the best fireworks show.  I too, love winter in Utah, but I\’m not quite ready for it this year…..I\’m getting a little less fond of the cold every year 🙂

Leave a Reply

