Neighbors and Other Strangers

Standard
Tonight I was lying in bed, listening to one of my neighbors playing furiously on the piano.  It was actually rather nice; he’s a wonderful pianist so it was like falling asleep to my own little concert.  However, it got later and later and there didn’t seem to be an end to it.  Still, I didn’t mind.  Until his little boys (twins; I think they are about 6) began to run around outside, yelling "goodbye, goodbye" to their visitors….for 10 minutes….at 11pm.   Do people not  realize that they are not the only ones in existance?  That there might be someone (my husband, for instance) who has the alarm set for 4:45 am.?  So here I am now, wide awake…and my mom, sis and kids are meeting us here at 8:30 in the morning to go out to breakfast and apple picking.  (Yes, it would seem that we are finally going to the orchards.)    
 
The neighbors to the east of us, they just moved in about two months ago.  An older couple, maybe in their 60’s?  (The older I get, the younger everyone else looks to me!)   Now there was someone I thought one day I would have to have a little chat with….this guy is like "Mr. Busy";  from the moment they moved in he was working on this, building that, rearraging the other…for the first week or so, he was in his garage with the power tools until way past 10pm.  Fortunately, that did stop.  He is still constantly busy, but no longer noisy into the wee hours.  They are nice people – I actually borrowed a cube of butter from them one day!
 
Speaking of neighbors, I think it is such a sad thing that we rarely get to know anyone who lives around us these days.  Everyone is so wrapped up in their little worlds.   We’ve never really had any problem neighbors, and I know folks who have, so I consider myself lucky.  However, in all the places we’ve lived (and there have been plenty!) we have only had one set of neighbors who I would actually consider friends.  These were people who would just show up – without being asked – when they saw that I’d gotten two tons of hay delivered, so they could help put it in the barn.  The ones who taught me how to can peaches, and to – gasp – hold a newborn baby waaaay before I wanted to, because they were taking a trip to the emergency room with another family member.  Lol.  Most of my neighbors, I don’t even know their names.  Poor Kiki, being the only kid in the subdivision who doesn’t go to the local public school, she really has no friends in the neighborhood.  Gosh, when I was growing up, all of us kids ran in a big old pack, even tho my sisters and I went to a private school…but, all the moms were home, so they knew one another.   We have prayed and prayed for a nice little girl to move in nearby, but so far it hasn’t happened.  Maybe we are supposed to be moving soon…in which case, it would be better if Kiki didn’t have a good friend she’d have to move away from… we’ve already had to deal with that tragedy, and I don’t care to re-live that. 
 
I guess I will go back downstairs and see if I can sleep now! 
 
 
"The Bible tells us to love our neighbors, and also to love our enemies;  probably because they are generally the same people."
G.K. Chesterton, 1910
2 responses »

  1. Wow…those neighbours you consider friends sound like really nice ppl. We have a couple neighbours like that. Ever since we moved into our place (which was 17 and a half years ago) our neighbours across the street would walk to our place in the summer, Christmas and every odd time to deliver fresh honey, wine, baking and the vegetables they grow in their garden. And of course, Christmas gifts for that jolly old time of year. It\’s such a treat to have that kind of relationship with those you live next to! And you\’re absolutely right. The charm of making friends with your neighbours is slowly diminishing in today\’s society. That\’s why when a neighbour does welcome us with a warm and friendly "hello" it is very meaningful.

  2. I have lived in my current home for over a year now, and I don\’t know one neighbor.  Ocassionally, I see someone getting into or out of their car, and we wave at each other.  I would like to know more people around here, but I am shy and find it unbearably hard to go up to someone and introduce myself.  At least my neighborhood is quiet and peaceful, so I really can\’t complain.

Leave a Reply

