To All Moms…We Rock!!!

Standard
I read this awesome quote in a book I am reading titled "Captivating" (Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman’s Soul).  The quote is from G.K. Chesterton in his book "What’s Wrong with the World", written in 1910.  Here’s to all of us moms, who are worth so much more than we are sometimes given credit for!
 
To be Queen Elizabeth within a definate area, deciding sales, banquets, labors, and holidays; to be Whitely within a certain area, providing toys, boots, cakes and books; to be Aristotle within a certain area, teaching morals, manners, theology, and hygiene; I can understand how this might exhaust the mind, but I cannot imagine how it could narrow it.
How can it be a large career to tell other people’s children about the Rule of Three*, and a small career to tell one’s own children about the universe?  How can it be broad to be the same thing to everyone and narrow to be everything to someone?
No, a woman’s function is laborious, but because it is gigantic, not because it is minute. 
 
 
* the Rule of Three is an old mathematical law of proportion
 
 
2 responses »

  1. I read this Eldredge book too and found it interesting.   I like Chesterton\’s writings as well.   (I thought Wild At Heart was better though as far as concise writing and fascinating information, probably b/c I\’m not a man!)
     
    Thanks for your visit to my blog and for leaving a comment.  It\’s always fun to meet bloggers I haven\’t run across yet on MSN. 
     
    -Beast Mom

  2. Your space is beautiful and uplifting. Thanks for your comments on mine as I am just figuring all this out and am finding a wonderful communitiy of supporting, intelligent, and humorous women like yourself.

Leave a Reply

