My Poor Old Doggie

Standard
Poor T., my ol’ bubbie, has taken a turn for the worse.  Since yesterday afternoon, he has been having a hard time breathing.  Not labored, really – just short, shallow breaths.  I took him back to the vet this morning.  He did some bloodwork, and if nothing comes of that we’ll have to do xrays.  He said he’d have to refer me to a fellow vet, as his xray machine wasn’t big enough.  What’s up  with that, I’d like to know?!  He’s a Golden Retriever, not a horse!  My vet is worried that it might be cancer.  He told me to continue giving T. the antibiotics because maybe he’s just fighting off something…however, he also said that his lungs sound clear, so that doesn’t really make sense, does it?  The look on the vet’s face told me more than his words…I think it’s serious.  Cancer is what got my last Golden.  But, he was 14…T. is only 9.  I am beginning to panic…for 2 reasons.  The first is, simply, because I love my dog.  I’ve loved all my dogs, of course, all my pets; but this guy…well, we got him when I was pregnant with Kiki.  My pregancy was hard, and I spent a whole lot of time laying around the house.  It never mattered if I lay down for 20 minutes or 3 hours…T. was right there with me.  Never on the bed, my hubby had put his foot down about that…but, always right there.  Or, in the bathtub.  In our old house, his favorite place was the tub, because he has always sought out the coolest spots, and our tub was an old porcelain one, and quite chilly.  (It wasn’t so great for bathing, but the dog loved it!)  After Kiki was born, she never slept, I swear…so we spent lots of time riding in the car – she did sleep there – and T. always came along.  She would also sleep in her pram, so we spent literally hours walking…all over town, to get a mocha (I needed all the caffeine I could get!) and to the park.  The park was his favorite, as I would let him off his leash and he would have a wonderful time chasing squirrels.  Because we spent so much time together -and our yard wasn’t fenced – he learned to hang out in the yard without wandering off.  Now, I was generally out with him…but I remember once, we were sitting out on the front porch and the phone rang…I left him outside while I ran in to answer it, then I forgot he was out there.  Pregnancy dementia, you know.  I flaked out on the couch and slept for a couple hours.  When I woke up, he was just laying there on the front steps, waiting for me to let him in…
 
The second reason for my panic is, sadly, money.  I mean, I have already spent about $250.00 and I don’t even know what’s wrong yet.  What if he needs some sort of major treatment?  Or even if it’s not that serious but it’s going to cost a wheelbarrow full of money??  We are a one-income family…we chose that, so I could stay home to raise our daughter, and homeschool her, but this is when I wish there was another salary coming into this household.  This first $250.00 is already going to cause some major budgetary cramps…my heart is willing to do anything for my pets, but my checkbook (and my husband) well, there’s another story.  
 
Okay, okay, I know…"don’t worry about tomorrow; today has enough worries of it’s own"…and worry never added an hour to a man’s life…it’s so hard, tho…I slept poorly last night, as I kept waking up and hearing him breathing so hard…or didn’t hear him, which was worse, which sent me flying out of bed to check on him…
 
And it’s the first week of schooling…I think it’s going to be a long week…. 
  
2 responses »

  1. I\’m so sorry about your worries with your dog- my cats are dear to me that way- unconditional love & companionship. I\’ll be praying for the best for all of you.

  2. Howdy!
    I was cruising around Best of… and decided to click and say hello.  I enjoyed reading your space.  I\’m sorry to hear about your sweet bubby… I have two, Lulu and Mojo, so, I totally understand.  Since I\’m not currently working, I\’ve had the chance to re-bond with my special gal, Lulu.  She\’s my love puppy.  I rescued her from the pound just after I had to put my beloved australian cattle dog to sleep.  She\’s been such a heart-saver. 🙂
    Congrats on being featured.  Isn\’t it a trip that you get so much traffic yet no one comments?  Lordy… I had something like 20k hits in one day… and four comments.  lol  That\’s kind of a low average, dontcha think?
    Feel free to stop by and say hi anytime.
    🙂
    Natalie

Leave a Reply

