Vacation from Life

Standard
So, this week I took a vacation  from life.  The spousal unit would say I am always on vacation, being a stay-at-home mom.  Which is exactly the point, DUH.  Especially since I am also a homeschooling mom.  Anyone out there in my position will get it…I mean , sure, I’m not complaining…by and large, I get to schedule my time and my work according to my own whims, BUT my job lasts 24-7, 365 days a year.  There are no coffee breaks, no hour-long lunches alone; geez, you can’t even call in sick!!  But this week, my dear daughter has Theatre Camp…wow, so THIS is what it’s like to have your child gone all day, every day!  Is this why parents send their kids off to school??!!    The first couple days after I dropped her off, I just wandered about some stores, aimlessly…wondering WHO are those voices in my head – when I realized…it was the sound of my OWN thoughts!!!  I haven’t heard those in….years.  My daughter is a wonderful, and (basically) well behaved kid, but there is this incessant chatter…ahhh, the sound of silence!  That’s when it hit me…I’m on holiday!  I’ve had mochas on the back porch every day…read a novel….ok, a short one…gone shopping to look at the stuff I like…I know my husband wonders why I haven’t gotten SOMEthing done…but I have…I de-stressed…maybe I can cut back on the Prozac now…
Leave a Reply

